Gender in Advertising

Guest Post by: Megan Goerth

Gender in Advertising or Advertising to Gender…A few months ago I would have looked at the arrangement of those words and thought nothing of it, as if they were equal. Let’s just say a lot can be learned in a short period of time. I now look at the words with confusion, angst, hope, and multiple other adjectives. The first thing that pops into my head is gender in advertising. Three percent of creative directors are women; whereas women make eighty five percent of consumption decisions. Learning about these shocking stats along with other important information about women in creative has been an eye opening experience. The veil of ignorance has been lifted. I have finally been exposed to the bitter realities creative women face every day. I have become aware of the gender disparities in advertising creative and I am hopeful that my generation will be able to make a significant change to the number of creative women leaders.

GoerthAlthough, I have learned about the hardships that come with “being a woman in a man’s world”, I still believe that becoming a female creative director is highly attainable. Will it be easy and effortless, absolutely not? Male or female; no matter who you are, you will experience struggle, sacrifice, failure, triumph and many other things while on the way to the top. Males may have an easier time getting there, but at the end of the day it’s what you make of it. No one ever said that getting to the top would be easy, male or female, so why not just take the challenge? Being a woman, who wants to make it to the top, I have two choices:

  1. Wallow in the unfairness that only 3% of creative directors are women and give up on my hopes and dreams.
  2. Take the information I have learned and use it to my advantage.

I choose number 2! In order to make a difference and change the way things work, one must be aware of the change that needs to be made. Everything I have learned has only made me more eager to accept the challenge that comes with being a female creative. I could not be more excited to confront the gender disparities head on.

One thought on “Gender in Advertising

  1. I believe that the first step in order to change this issue within advertising is to become knowledgable on the subject. Sitting in ignorance as if pretending everything is okay, gender equality exists, ect. is just wrong. Instead, issues need to be combatted head-on. When seeing such a hopeful blog post, I think it is most positive in saying that someone is “excited” to confront the gender disparities as opposed to run away from them.

Leave a Reply

